Recipes for Family Holidays: Fun With Baking and Cooking

recipes for family holidays

One of my family’s favourite traditions is coming up with recipes for family holidays. Whether we stay home for the holidays, or travel somewhere, we know it’s Christmastime when we get cooking. Here are some of our favourite recipes for family holidays.

Christmas Soup

A great recipe to do with kids is Christmas soup. I do a lot of the prep in advance: I chop onions, carrots, and celery, and any other veggies that I have in the fridge. This soup varies based on what ingredients I have handy, but I tend to use root vegetables like potatoes, yams, and parsnips. If I want the soup to be chunky, or I’m too lazy to blend it, then I throw in some cooked rice, cooked quinoa, star pasta, or white beans. Sometimes I will also throw in a can of chopped tomatoes. I use a little turmeric, cumin, and a bit of chili powder to give the soup some kick.

I recruit the kids to help me throw the ingredients in the pot (which they love). When they’re a bit older, I might try to get them to help with the chopping.

Holiday Baking

While shape cookies are a very popular for family holidays, I prefer drop cookies for their simplicity. A shape cookie requires rolling out the dough, cutting out shapes, and then decorating the cookies. Some kids have the attention span for this, but many don’t. Drop cookies offer nearly instant gratification. Most recipes only take about 10 minutes to mix up, and if you make an egg-free recipe then the kids can start eating the raw cookie dough.

I try to keep my cookies on the healthier end of the cookie spectrum. Check out this recipe for molasses cookies. These hazelnut sandwich cookies are also delicious. Just use Nutella as the spread and you’re good to go. Both are great recipes for family holidays. If you want something fun with red and green, check out this recipe for Christmas drop cookies with red and green M&M’s.

No matter which recipes for family holidays you use, cooking or baking with the family is a great way to get in the holiday spirit.

